The Judging Process

  • The final date for entries is June 01 2018
  • To enter you must be a member of VFI or LVA
  • The awards are judged in three sections. The online written entry is the first round. There will be a shortlist developed for each category in each of seven regions based on the written submissions.
  • The second round of judging will include anonymous site visits during August.
  • The judges will follow the criteria for each category when judging and will work to a common checklist. There will be no engagement by the judges with the entrants.
  • Regional winners in each category will be announced at regional events in late September/early October. All shortlisted entrants will be invited to attend by email. There will be 63 Regional Winners across the nine award categories
  • The national winners in each category and the overall winner will be announced at the Gala Awards final on November 21st
  • The Judges decision will be final in all instances

Overall Winner

The overall award for Irish Pub of the Year will be awarded to the Irish Pub that in the opinion of the judges, demonstrates ‘best in class’ in the areas of, innovation, creativity, ambiance, operational excellence and customer service.


Region 1 – Connaught

Galway, Mayo, Sligo, Leitrim and Roscommon

Region 2 – North East

Donegal, Cavan, Monaghan, Louth, Longford and Westmeath

Region 3 – South East

Tipperary, Kilkenny, Waterford and Wexford

Region 4 – Cork


Region 5 – East

Carlow, Kildare, Laois, Offaly, Wicklow and Meath

Region 6 – South West

Kerry, Limerick and Clare

Region 7 – Dublin